One Dramatic Wednesday

The image looks so calm but my week was not.

We were suppose to be in Oslo on Wednesday morning for an appoinment. We booked tickets for Tuesday late afternoon. Tuesday morning Western Norway was hard hit by a snow storm. Right in the middle of a meeting I got a message from my husband “Airport closed indefinitely“. Later came more news on traffic problems. What shall we do?

A significant number of flights were cancelled but ours was on time. Can you believe this? 

Every possible obstacle was thrown on our way to the airport but we reached the gate right in time. I was even able to fill my water bottle. Was I thirsty? Have you ever walked on heavy snow? Yes it is tougher and therefore takes longer.

We knew Oslo will be fiercely cold but we were ready for that. Temperature was in two digits below zero. I think it was around -15 C. Reaching Oslo in time was such a relief.

Street in Oslo

Fortunately our work was done in time. We thought of taking lunch in Oslo city centre before taking train to Oslo airport. I like sushi but my husband isn’t really a fan. He insisted me having lunch first as it was hard to have our choice of food in one place. I agreed as it was way past lunchtime and I was hungry.

Before heading towards my husband’s choice of restaurant we passed the railway station. To our surprise it was jam-packed. It was all new to us. Heavy snow and particularly low temperatures have put all trains on halt. The security person on railway station told me very coldly “No train no plane“.

Later we found a queue of passengers hoping to reach airport. Due to train problem busses were arranged. We join the endless queue. By the time it was our turn no bus was available. The train authorities decided to hire taxis. It was already 3:00 pm. We reached aiport at 5:15 pm.

“Oslo airport has stopped all flights from landing and departing amid heavy snowfall and extreme weather around the Norwegian capital, the east of the country and parts of Sweden.

The airport operator Avinor said it had taken the extremely rare step to suspend flights at about 12.35pm local time on Wednesday for safety reasons after large volumes of snow and strong wind meant the lights on the runway were not visible.

Our 5 pm flight got cancelled and we were rescheduled on a flight at 8:30 pm. As if it was not enough 8:30 pm flight was cancelled and we were told to get new Information around 9:20 pm. We boarded the plane at 10:30 pm and reached home around 1:00 am.

Lens artists photo challenge

Here is a newsclip: https://www.euronews.com/video/2024/01/17/severe-winter-weather-causes-chaos-across-northern-europe

71 thoughts on “One Dramatic Wednesday

  1. What a saga, so glad you made it safely … and at least you had extreme weather to blame for those delays! Stay warm

    Here many flights are cancelled last minute due to not enough staff and no ongoing travel arrangements are made …. reason I haven’t flown since covid. Then there is the hassle of getting credits for your fare and often they expire too soon.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wow. I was in Oslo In August. It looks like a different world. Your saga makes me ashamed of complaining of our few inches of snow we got here in the US this week. I am in the south and we are not prepared for snow but it was nothing like this of course. I am so glad you made your trip safely.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Adventures are always much more exciting AFTER they are over! I think Tolkien said something along this line in LOTR through Samwise, but do not remember exactly where.
    Glad you made it safely. Anita and I are still trying to work out getting to the Nordic lands, but now it’s looking like 2025!😌
    ❤️&🙏, c.a.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Sounds like our Midwest weather in the US. We have been getting snow storms every couple of days, snow piling up into almost feet of unpassable roads and highways. If you could see what kind of hazards we go through with horrible icy conditions and white outs, then you would know that you and I are in similar boats. The temperature this morning is -3 degrees F. (-19.4c ) Enough to freeze the marrow in my old bones! Last week, there was a window of about four days with no storms, and we flew in to Arizona for a wedding. The temperatures there, were in the 60s. Returned on Tuesday this week to the tundra here. 😦 😦

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Wow! What a storm and what a day! I have walked in heavy snow and you’re right. It’s hard work. Glad you were able to get back and didn’t have to spend the night in an airport (or hotel).

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Pingback: Here’s my two cents on travelling | mazeepuran (माझे e-पुराण)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.